Topic 4 – Bridging the Digital Divide

DigitalDivideWordle

Wordle created by Gwen Berry

This week I investigated the Digital Divide, developed a Wordle graphic and embedded this into an Infographic to reflect my understanding of this topic.

Bridging the Digital Divide

Infographic created using Microsoft Publisher by Gwen Berry

Jennifer Howell (2012) states: “schools are increasingly asked to bridge the digital divide between what parents can afford and what they want their children to be able to experience or be fluent in”.

However, that is not all the Digital Divide is. It has been described as the difference between those that have access to information technology and those who do not, the poor and the wealthy, the advantaged and disadvantaged. It has also been known as the difference between Digital Immigrants and Digital Natives (Prensky 2001).

Throughout this Study Period, I have been house-sitting in a mountainous location. This Unit, including assessments, blog, infographic, embedded Wordle and other learning activities, were created on my laptop, accessing Internet using the Hotspot on my Smartphone. There were many times I felt the Digital Divide when I was developing, creating, writing or researching and could not access the Wifi signal. It made me reflect on how heavily I rely on digital and mobile technologies every day.

As a teacher, it is my responsibility to help bridge the digital divide in my classroom. I can do this by encouraging students to investigate new technologies and giving them opportunities to discover and learn while they are in my classroom.

References

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT. Digital Pedagogies for Collaboration and Creativity. South Melbourne, VIC: Oxford University Press.

Feinberg, J. (2013). Wordle. Retrieved from http://www.wordle.net/

Prensky, M. (2001). Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants. Retrieved from http://www.marcprensky.com

Leave a Reply

