Topic 9 – The Nature of Schooling in a Digital Age

Although this week’s Topic is not included in the Blog Assessment, I would like to touch briefly on the subject of “The Nature of Schooling in a Digital Age”.

This week I was introduced to an array of online educational tools that can be used in the 21st century classroom. As an informed, enthusiastic and educated Digital Immigrant; also a parent and grandparent to Digital Natives (Prensky, 2001), I thought I was fairly well versed in the digital arena. I am familiar with the commonly known programs and applications such as Google, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Skype, Facetime, Messenger, Soundcloud and others. Throughout this Unit, I have been introduced to Sploder, Voki, Prezi, Pinterest, Wordle, WordPress and many more. I am astounded at the Web 2.0 tools that are at the disposal of the modern teacher. I look forward to experimenting further and using some of these tools to assist me throughout my Degree and on to my future teaching experiences.

prezi

I used the example of Sugata Mitra’s Build a School in the Cloud (2013) in my Video Assessment and whilst experimenting with Prezi. I was and remain to be very impressed by his vision of making education and technology accessible to children all over the world, particularly those separated by the Digital Divide.

References

Dunn, J. (2010, July 8). The 35 Best Web 2.0 Classroom Tools Chosen By You. Edudemic: connecting education and technology. Retrieved from http://www.edudemic.com/the-35-best-web-2-0-classroom-tools-chosen-by-you/

Dunn, J. (2011, November 2). The 100 Best WEb 2.0 Classroom Tools Chosen By You. Edudemic: connecting education and technology. Retrieved from http://www.edudemic.com/best-web-tools/

TED2013. (2013, February). Sugata Mitra: Build a School in the Cloud. [Video File]. Retrieved from https://www.ted.com/talks/sugata_mitra_build_a_school_in_the_cloud?language=en#t-1082203

Prensky, M. (2001). Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants. Retrieved from http://www.marcprensky.com

Leave a Reply

