Topic 6 – Digital Fluency

This week’s learning covered the topic of Digital Fluency and how important it is for learning in a digital world. Throughout my readings and viewings I have discovered that not all teachers are digitally fluent. However, what they do have is the enthusiasm and willingness to be guided by their students. No one teacher can know everything there is to know about the digital world. However, we can educate ourselves to a point where we are able to understand and be prepared to learn new technology.

I had fun and more than a little bit of frustration working with the program Scratch. I developed In the Gardena very basic Scratch game designed for children up to 2 years old. I can see how this game could be used to assist in a teaching environment. For the younger children, basic learning could be developed through various Scratch games. For example, counting, colours, shapes, animals etcetera. Older children could develop more strategic applications. Although I struggled somewhat with Scratch, I now know the basics and have since found various resources on Pinterest that will assist me in the future, so that I can guide students.

Scratch Game


Theoretical underpinnings

While struggling through the development of the Scratch game, I found myself exhibiting constructionist and experiential learning (Howell, 2012). Through trial and error and imagining real world situations, I figured out how I wanted my Scratch game to look and what I wanted it to do.

References

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT: Digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. Oxford University Press: South Melbourne, Australia.

Leave a Reply

